Sample image

Welcome friend. We are glad you are here to learn more about us. Whether you are looking for a place to belong, worship, grow, learn, or explore....we are pleased to have you. Here are a few of the most common questions we receive. It's a great place to start.

Our Beliefs

We believe that we were created by God to "Live and Love Like Jesus." As a United Methodist congregation, we have an obligation to bear a faithful Christian witness to Jesus Christ, the living reality at the center of the Church’s life and witness. To fulfill this obligation, we reflect critically on our biblical and theological inheritance, striving to express faithfully the witness we make in our own time.
Read more ...

Administrative Council

Chairperson: Anne Taylor
Secretary: Linda Harper
Lay Leader: Laurie Newton
Lay Member to AC: Willie Ann Hucks
Lay Member to AC (Alt): Tina Harr
Trustee Representative: Nancy Collins (2019)
SPRC Representative: Glenn Cribb
Church Treasurer: Leslie Johnson-Quick
Finance Chairperson: Lisa Woodle
Financial Secretary: Terri Alford
Membership Secretary: Marie Richardson
Missions: Keith Collins
Worship: Cynthia Duke / Dannye Singleton
UMM President: Hal Allen
UMW President: Linda Griggs
UMYF President
Children’s Coordinator: Kathy O’Connor
Youth Coordinators: Jill Cribb, Sherry Winburn
Older Adult Coordinator: Betsy Fruhling
Family Coordinator: Cindy Allen
Communication Coordinator: Tina Anderson
Historian: Sam Dusenbury
Music Director: Nancy Tindall
Native American Coordinator: Sonny Harper
Disaster Relief Coordinator


Staff Pastor Relations Committee (SPRC)
Annual Conference Delegate: Willie Ann Hucks
Lay Leader: Laurie Newton

Class of 2020
Tony Altman
Sonny Harper
Earlene Johnson

Class of 2021
Erica Tyler
Jill Cribb
Glenn Cribb (Chair)

Class of 2022
Mark Haynes
Lynn Dusenbury
Matt Winburn


Board of Trustees

Class of 2020
Ron Cribb
Joe Grassi
Sean Quick

Class of 2021
Kathryn Sligh
Tina Harr
Nancy Collins (Chair 2019)

Class of 2022
Michael Hearl
Cynthia Duke
Glenn Rosey


Committee on Lay Leadership (Nominations)

Class of 2020
Valerie Grassi
David Sligh
Phil Cain

Laurie Newton (Lay Leader)

Class of 2021
Cynthia Duke
Sonny Harper
Nancy O'Connell

Class of 2022
Jeanne Roberts
Minoo Rosey
Whitney Hearl


Committee on Finance
Finance Chairperson: Lisa Woodle    
Financial Secretary: Terri Alford
Administrative Council Chair: Anne Taylor
Lay Leader: Laurie Newton
Church Treasurer: Leslie Johnson-Quick
Trustee Representative: Nancy Collins
SPRC Representative: Glenn Cribb
At-large Members: Phil Hucks, Irv Wooley


Program and Ministry Support Leadership
UMM President: Hal Allen
UMW President: Linda Griggs
UMYF President


Ministry Teams


Cynthia Duke / Dannye Singleton (Co-Chairs) 
Lynn Dusenbury
Nancy Tindall
Anne Taylor
Tina Harr
Marsha Cribb
Nancy O'Connell


Age-Level Coordinators

Children: Kathy O"Connor
Youth: Jill Cribb / Sherry Winburn
Family: Cindy Allen
Older Adult: Betsy Fruling



[Editorial note: The document below is a redaction from a summary of Union’s history compiled by Mr. Sam Dusenbury for the From Jesus to Union history class (2012). This reposting should provide you, the reader, with a brief yet thorough understanding of this congregation's rich history.]


A Summary of Union United Methodist Church’s History

  • A Historical Overview:

Union United Methodist Church is neither the oldest nor the largest church in Horry County, but it is one of the richest in tradition, fellowship and dedication of its members.  Records indicate that the first church located on or near the present site of Union was a brush arbor "meeting place" which was established in 1756.  This church was established because the five mile trip from what is now Toddville to Kingston, now Conway, was a long and difficult journey over the deplorable roads of that day. 

Read more ...

Chris Arries photoRev. Arries comes to Union after serving four years at Mountain View United Methodist Church in Taylors S.C. He has also served at these United Methodist churches in South Carolina: Simpsonville, Hopewell, Cokesbury-Hodges, South Anderson, and Cameron.



FL 2000, SP 2002, PL 2003, PE 2005, FE 2008, SC: 1999 Cameron, 2002 South Anderson, 2006 Cokesbury-Hodges, 2009 Hopewell, Simpsonville, 2014 Mountain View.


Union UMC is part of the South Carolina Annual Conference. 

The SC Conference is divided into twelve districts. Each district is overseen by a District Superintendent.

Union UMC is located in the Marion District and is currently guided by the leadership of Reverend "Dickie" Knight.

To learn more about the SC Annual Conference please visit the website below:

To learn more about the Marion District, please visit the website below.

Newsletter Signup

Latest Events

Wed Jun 29 @ 9:30AM - 10:30AM
Prayer Team
Wed Jun 29 @ 6:30PM - 07:30PM
Choir Practice
Sun Jul 03 @ 9:30AM - 10:15AM
Youth Sunday School
Sun Jul 03 @10:30AM -
Worship Service
Sun Jul 03 @ 5:00PM - 06:30PM
Mon Jul 04 @10:30AM - 11:30AM
XYZ Seniors Group

Childrens Programs

garden block